Types Of Government Regimes

A system that governs and set guidelines for the proper functioning of a state or community is called as a government. The five types of government regimes are:

* Confederal

* Federal

* Hegemony

* Imperial

* Unitary


A confederal type of government, or confederation, is the collective term used to refer to a permanent union of various political units for common actions. These types of government regimes are formed, usually, by a treaty and later they adopt or construct their own constitution. A confederation type of government is concerned mainly with critical affairs like defense, currency etc. and other activities are usually decentralized to the constituting states or local units.


A federation or a federal state is the term used to refer to the types of government regimes that is formed by union or participation form local self-governing states. The member states have lot of privileges in making decisions that are concerned about their state but all the local self governments come under a central constitution and no rules and regulations can be made that might alter the central constitution. Federation type of government can be multi ethnic or multi lingual and one best example is the Indian government. Even though different states have different culture and lifestyle, they all come to mutual agreement in matters concerning the common interest of the federation.


In such types of government regimes, a country or region will be ruled a leading state or province in that country. The leader state uses political powers to rule other subordinate states that are connected geopolitically. Hegemony during the early time represented cultural dominance of a particular country or state over others in terms of culture, politics and geography. The erstwhile soviet union was an example for a hegemonic government that existed in 20th century. Apart from political hegemony, cultural hegemony is another form of hegemony.


Monarchy stands for the types of government regimes in which the sovereign power solely relies on a particular individual. The sovereign power will generally be a king. The rules and regulations of the country or state depends on the attitude of the monarch and different kingdoms will have different policies due to this reason.

There are constitutional monarchies too in which the kingdom functions are based on a written constitution and such types of government regimes will generally have an elected body to decide on rules and regulations. In such cases the monarch supervises the decisions made by the elected body and the final authority to implement any decision made by the elected body remains with the monarch.


Unitary types of government regimes consider the whole country as one unit and the central government acts as the supreme power. Unlike other government regimes in which the power is distributed among the state governments or provinces, the central government makes decisions and plans that are generally applicable to the country as a whole. In such governments, individual states and provinces will not have their own policies.