Types Of Cells That Undergo Mitosis And Meiosis

Are you looking to find out the types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis? Then the following is dedicated to educating you on what you need to know about mitosis and meiosis and their different divisions.

The cell theory states that every living cell has its roots from a preexisting cell. The procedure of forming new cells from preexisting cells is what is known as cell division. The types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis can be divided into two main forms, namely cytoplasm (or cytokineses) and karyokinesis.

But before delving into the discussion of the types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis, it is important to explain the meaning of mitosis and meiosis. When two daughter cells that are genetically identical are produced, we can say it is mitosis. So, the repair of body tissues, regeneration, and the fertilization of eggs to form organisms are all linked to mitosis.

In animals that undergo sexual reproduction, gamete (sperm and eggs) or cell production is only possible when each animals chromosome significantly reduced by half the actual number. This process of chromosome reduction to haploid from diploid is usually followed by what is referred to as meiosis.

Before the process of meiosis and mitosis can be initiated, the different types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis need to replicate its chromosomes and produce the things that are required for cell division to take place. This process of gathering requirements passes through a stage referred to as cell interphase. This phase has three distinct stages: the GI phase, the S phase, and the G2 phase. The FI phase is the most basic phase where the cell performs its primary functions and carries out specialized activities. The S phase involves the duplication of the nucleus chromosome in order to produce identical copies, and they are glued to themselves by centromere.

When these chromosomes are attached, they are known as chromatids. The G2 phase is the synthesizing of the proteins and other substances that will be needed during meiosis and mitosis. The cells normally go through meiosis and mitosis after going through the G2 phase.

Types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis

All the different types of sex cells undergo meiosis while mitosis only occurs in no sex cells or what is known as somatic cells. Spermatozoa and ova (also known as gametes) are the two most important types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis.

While mitosis is used all over the body to replaces worn out cells and repair body tissues, meiosis is solely responsible for producing gametes (spermatozoa and ova).

Mitosis is equally used in the development of the embryos from one fertilized egg to multiple neonate and fetus. Below is a list of some of the types of cells that undergo mitosis and meiosis:

* Thymus epithelial cell

* Spermatozoon

* Spermatogonium cell

* Spermatocyte

* Spermatid

* Sertoli cell

* Ovarian follicle cell

* Oogonium/Oocyte

* Interstitial kidney cells

* Suppressor T cell

* Reticulocyte

* Osteoclast

* Neutrophil granulocyte

* Natural Killer T cell

* Natural killer cell

* Monocyte

* Microglial cell

* Megakaryocyte

* Mast cell

* Hybridoma cell

* Helper T cell

* Erythrocyte

* Epidermal Langerhans cell

* Eosinophil granulocyte

* Dendritic cell

* Cytotoxic T cell

* Connective tissue macrophage

* Basophil granulocyte

* B cell